THE INDIAN SOCIETY OF AGROPHYSICS



Division of Agricultural Physics ICAR-Indian Agricultural Research Institute New Delhi-110012, INDIA Ph: +91-11-25841178 Fax: +91-11-25843014 Email: secretary.agrophysics@gmail.com

No. ISAP/2023-2024/6

Dated:15th May 2023

Proceedings of the Executive Council Meeting held on 13th April 2023 at 12:00 hrs. in Room No. 115, KAB-II, ICAR, New Delhi 110 012

The meeting of the Executive Council (EC) of the Indian Society of Agrophysics (ISAP) was held on 13th April 2023 at 12:00 hrs. in Room No. 115, KAB-II, ICAR, New Delhi110 012.

The following members attended the meeting:

- 1. Dr. S. K. Chaudhari, Immediate Past President and Editor-in-Chief, ISAP
- 2. Dr. Y.S. Shivay, President, ISAP
- 3. Dr. D.K. Das, Ex-Vice-President, ISAP
- 4. Dr. Pragati Pramanik Maity, Secretary, ISAP
- 5. Dr. (Mrs) Ananta Vashisth, Ex-Treasurer, ISAP
- 6. Dr. Rajeev Ranjan, Treasurer, ISAP

The agenda points of the meeting were:

- Formation of a New Editorial Board
- Changes in the guidelines of Dr. S. S. Ray's Best Doctoral Thesis Award
- Publication of a book on Fundamentals of Agricultural Physics
- Publication of a Special Issue of the Journal of Agricultural Physics on AI, Sensors, Machine Learning
- Financial issues
- Any other item with permission of the Chair

At the outset, Dr. S. K. Chaudhari, Immediate Past President and Editor-in-Chief, ISAP welcomed the members of the EC meeting and congratulated all the members for successfully organizing National Symposium on Digital Farming: The Future of Indian Agriculture at ICAR-IISS, Bhopal during 2-3 February 2023. Dr. Y. S. Shivay, President, ISAP welcomed all the members and Dr. Pragati Pramanik Maity, Secretary, ISAP presented the action taken report on the decisions taken in the previous EC meeting. The following deliberations were taken place and the decisions were approved by the Executive Council members.

- The following names have been approved by the EC as members of the Editorial Board for 2023-24:
 - i. Dr. U. K. Chopra, Retired Professor, Division of Agricultural Physics, ICAR-IARI, New Delhi
 - ii. Dr. K. K. Bandyopadhyay, ICAR-IARI, New Delhi
- iii. Dr. Priyabatra Santra, ICAR-CAZRI, Jodhpur
- iv. Dr. R. S. Chaudhary, ICAR-IISS, Bhopal

- v. Dr. K. M. Hati, ICAR-CRIJAF, Barrackpore
- vi. Dr. Balasubramaniam, TNAU, Coimbatore
- vii. Dr. A. V. M. Subba Rao, ICAR-CRIDA, Hyderabad
- viii. Dr. Adlul Islam, KAB-II, ICAR, New Delhi
 - ix. Dr Bhaskar Narjary, ICAR-CSSRI, Karnal
 - x. Dr. Bappa Das, ICAR-CCARI, Goa
 - xi. Dr. Budiman Minasny, University of Sydney, Australia
- As per the recommendation of the Selection Committee (2022-2023), Dr. S. S. Ray's Best Doctoral Thesis Award, the following modifications have been made to the guidelines:
 - i. The OGPA in certain Universities is not given, in those cases, the average of B.Sc. and M.Sc. can be taken as the yardstick.
 - ii. The presentation score will be 50%.
 - iii. Best five research papers published exclusively from the Ph.D. thesis work will be considered and the maximum marks for the research paper being reduced to 20 from 25.
 - iv. Marks for copyright/patent/technology developed/process/software/ model are reduced to 5 marks from 7.5.
 - v. Marks for professional recognition are reduced to 5 marks from 7.5
- The EC expressed the importance of publishing a book by the Indian Society of Agrophysics on Fundamentals of Agricultural Physics, covering all the units of the recently approved ARS Syllabus of Agricultural Physics. The proposal was approved in principle. A unit on Digital Agriculture will be included in the book in addition to the existing ARS Syllabus of Agricultural Physics. It was decided that the President, Dr. Y. S. Shivay; HoD, Division of Agricultural Physics and Vice-President, Dr. V. K. Sehgal, and Secretary, ISAP will come out with the potential contributors' names for each unit and then a meeting will be called where Editor-in-Chief will take the final decision.
- The proposal for the publication of a Special Issue of the Journal of Agricultural Physics on AI, Sensors, and Machine Learning was approved in principle. Dr. V. K. Sehgal will take the lead and will identify another 2-3 guest editors and come out with a detailed proposal which will be discussed in the next meeting.
- The Secretary informed the house that at present in the ISAP bank account around Rs. 6.4 lakh deposits are there and another 4.0 lakhs is expected to be credited to the account after submission of UC to ICAR (for Journal, Rs. 0.50 lakh) and Symposium (Rs. 1.25 lakh) and NABARD (Rs. 2.5 lakh). Further, it was also decided in the meeting that a sum of Rs. 5 lakhs should be made in a fixed deposit in the society's name. Two FDs of Dr. S. S. Ray's Best Doctoral Thesis Award (1.0 Lakh) and Dr. B. P. Ghildyal Memorial Lecture (1.80 Lakh) will remain separate and all the small FDs will be merged together. A total of two FDs (Rs. 6.93 lahks + Rs. 5 lahks) will be there in account in addition to two FDs of Dr. S. S. Ray's Best Doctoral Thesis Award and Dr. B. P. Ghildyal Memorial Award.
- The Secretary raised the issue of shortage of space for the society's work and a few things like three almirahs remained unattended due to lack of space. The EC decided to make a request to HoD, Division of Agricultural Physics, Dr. V. K. Sehgal for allotment of a room to ISAP. The hard copy of archives of each issue of the Journal of Agricultural Physics will be prepared by laminating each page of the journal for display and the rest of the old issues will be distributed at the next national event of ISAP.

• The next National event will be held at ICAR-CRIDA, Hyderabad during the month of February 2024 and the details will be discussed in the next EC meeting.

The meeting ended with a formal vote of thanks to the chair.

Pragati Pramanik Maity (Secretary)

Y S Shivay (President)

mossiray