www.agrophysics.in

THE INDIAN SOCIETY OF AGROPHYSICS

Division of Agricultural Physics ICAR-Indian Agricultural Research Institute New Delhi-110012, INDIA Ph: +91-11-25841178 Fax: +91-11-25843014 Email: secretary.agrophysics@gmail.com

Dated:12th April 2024

No. ISAP/2024-2025/1

Proceedings of the Executive Council Meeting held on 21 March 2024 at 10.30 AM in Room No. 104, KAB-II, ICAR, New Delhi 110 012

The following members attended the meeting:

- 1. Dr. S.K. Chaudhari, Immediate Past President and Editor-in-Chief of ISAP
- 2. Dr. Rajbir Singh, ADG (AF& CC), ICAR
- 3. Dr. N. Subash, Head, Division of Agricultural Physics, ICAR-IARI, New Delhi 110012
- 4. Dr. Y.S. Shivay, President, ISAP
- 5. Dr. V.K. Sehgal, Vice-President, ISAP
- 6. Dr. Pragati Pramanik Maity, Secretary, ISAP

The following agenda items were discussed in the meeting:

- 1. To discuss the various activities to be undertaken by the ISAP in the coming months
- 2. To discuss the financial status of the ISAP
- 3. Any other item with the permission of the Chair

At the outset, Dr. S.K. Chaudhari, Immediate Past President, and Editor-in-Chief of ISAP welcomed the members of the EC meeting and congratulated all the members of the EC and ISAP members for the successful organization of the National Seminar on **Smart Technologies for Sustainable Agriculture and Environment** at ICAR-CRIDA, Hyderabad from 22–23 February 2024. Dr. Y.S. Shivay, President, ISAP, and Dr. S.N. Pillai welcomed all the members and Dr. Pragati Pramanik Maity, Secretary, ISAP presented the action report on the decisions taken in the previous EC meeting. The following deliberations were taken place and the decisions were approved by the Executive Council members.

- The EC expressed the importance of publishing a book by the Indian Society of Agrophysics on Fundamentals of Agricultural Physics, covering all the units of the recently approved ARS Syllabus of Agricultural Physics. Dr. S.K. Chaudhari expressed his serious concern about the slow progress of the proposed society's book entitled "A Textbook on Agricultural Physics: Fundamentals and Applications". After discussion, it was decided that the last date of submission of the chapter material by the respective contributors could be extended to 21st April 2024. Further, it was decided that an immediate reminder mail needs to be sent to all the lead authors within a day or two for their prompt action on the pending book chapters submission to the society office.
- The Indian Society of Soil Science (ISSS) is organizing a Global Soils Conference 2024 under the aegis of the International Union of Soil Sciences in collaboration with the Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR) and National Academy of Agricultural Sciences (NAAS) on the topic "Caring Soils Beyond Food Security" during 19–22 November 2024 at National Agricultural Science Complex, New Delhi. It was decided in the meeting that a special issue of The Journal of Agricultural Physics will be released at the Global Soils Conference. The tentative theme of the special issue was agreed on simulation modelling, climate change and its impact on SPAC. It was decided that the President, Dr. Y.S. Shivay; Dr. S.N. Pillai, HoD, Division of Agricultural Physics and Vice-President, Dr. V.K. Sehgal,

- and Secretary, ISAP will come out with the potential contributors' names for the same and then a meeting will be called where Editor-in-Chief will take the final decision.
- The next National event will be held at ICAR-CCARI, Goa during the month of January 2025 and the details will be discussed in the next EC meeting.
- There was discussion on the request received from the family of the late Dr. D.K. Das, Former Head of the Division of Agricultural Physics, to initiate an award or memorial lecture in his name. The EC members believed that the Indian Society of Agrophysics could initiate a memorial lecture in his name provided the family members of Dr. D.K. Das contributed a corpus fund of a minimum of Rs. 5 lakhs for the memorial lecture. Accordingly, his family members will be informed in this regard. It was also discussed that if the late Dr. D.K. Das's family is interested in instituting the award at IARI. then, there will be no award from ISAP in the name of the late Dr. D. K. Das.
- The Secretary informed the house that at present in the ISAP bank account around Rs. 11.4 lakh deposits are there and another 6.0 lakhs is expected to be credited to the account after submission of UC to NABARD (Rs. 2.5 lahks), SBI, Hyderabad (Rs.1.0 lakh), IZA (0.5 lakh) and DST (Rs. 2.0 lakh). Further, it was also decided in the meeting that a sum of Rs. 10 lakhs should be made in a fixed deposit (444 days Canara Bank Scheme) in the society's name.
- It was also discussed and decided that only the registration fee will be waived off to Dr. Shibendu Shankar Ray's Best Doctoral Thesis Awardee and no TA/DA will be provided from the ISAP.
- The Secretary of ISAP expressed the need for a membership drive to increase the number of members of ISAP. All the EC members felt that students' membership should be increased from different divisions of ICAR-IARI and other Institutes.

The meeting ended with a formal vote of thanks to the chair and members.

Pragati Pramanik Maity (Secretary)

Y S Shivay (President)

moslivay